NZ PGA Championship 2021 – All You Need To Know

Te Puke Golf Club (Photo: Matt Ellis-Te Puke GC)
Te Puke Golf Club (Photo: Matt Ellis-Te Puke GC)

The 2021 New Zealand PGA Championship tees off at Te Puke Golf Club on Thursday 29 April and will continue until the tournament has a winner on Sunday 2 May.

NZ Golf Magazine has put together a vital list of information you need to know before the PGA’s number one golf event begins.


1 Josh Geary -7 65
2 Blake Collyer -6 66
T3 Jim Cusdin -5 67
T3 Taylor Gill -5 67
T3 David Klein -5 67
T3 James Hydes -5 67
T3 Tae Koh -5 67
T3 Nathan Barbieri -5 67
T3 Sung Jin Yeo -5 67



The New Zealand PGA Championship has been played since 1909 and 2021 will mark the 85th playing of this illustrious
tournament. Past winners of the New Zealand PGA Championship include Andrew Shaw, Ted Douglas, Alex Murray, Bob Glading, Kel Nagle, Sir Bob Charles, Greg Turner, Frank Nobilo, Michael Hendry, Brad Kennedy and Ben Campbell.

Current title holder Kazuma Kobori won the title as an amateur in 2019 at Pegasus Golf Club just north of Christchurch, winning by a four stroke margin over David Smail posting a total of 21 under par, 267.


The Rohe Trophy teams event will be held alongside the New Zealand PGA Championship. Teams made up of four players who will represent the region of their first golf club. Scoring will be made up of the top two scores from each round. The team that posts the lowest cumulative score across the four rounds (eight scores in total) will be awarded the inaugural Rohe Trophy.

The Rohe Trophy is named after the Maori word Rohe which translates to district/region of land.


The 2021 NZ PGA Championship will be staged at Te Puke Golf Club which is just 8km south of Te Puke and is located equidistant from Whakatane, Rotorua and Tauranga – the 3 main metropolitan areas in the Bay of Plenty province.


The 85th NZ PGA Championship will be free for entry across the duration of the tournament at Te Puke Golf Club.


Parking will be available at the Te Puke Golf Club situated at the intersection of State Highways 2 and 29. Turn right (if coming from south of Te Puke) or left (if coming from north of Te Puke) down State Highway 29 (‘the Whakatane turnoff’). The entrance is just past this intersection, on your left. Look for the green rolling landscape – you can’t miss it.


The NZ PGA Championship will be broadcast live on Sky Sport Select (Channel 50) and Sky Sport Now from 3.30pm until 5pm on the final two days, Saturday 1 May and Sunday 2 May.


29 April – 2 May, 2021

Advertisement Sign up to our NZ Golf Updates