Hong Kong Open Winner Wade Ormsby Set for New Zealand Open

Wade Ormsby
Wade Ormsby plays his shot from a bunker during the final round of the Hong Kong Open at the Hong Kong Golf Club on January 10, 2020.(Photo by Ivan Shum - Clicks Images/Getty Images)

It has been a lean couple of years for Wade Ormsby who last week saw his ranking rise into the Worlds Top 150 with his second victory at the co-sanctioned European and Asian Tours tournament in Hong Kong.

After a tie for 3rd place at the Australian PGA in December, Ormsby is setting his sights on a big year and today has confirmed his entry to the New Zealand Open for 2020.

Over 60 Australian golfers, including eight former champions, are heading across the Tasman in force for the 101st New Zealand Open in Queenstown and it may be the South Australian that attracts much of the attention.

“I am excited to return to play the New Zealand Open next month,” said Ormsby.

“It has been a great start to the year winning the Hong Kong Open and hopefully I can continue that form in Queenstown.

“I was proud of the way I played and it was nice to get 2020 off to a flying start.”

Ormsby has been close to winning the Open, finishing in a share of runner-up behind compatriot Nathan Green in 2002 at Gulf Harbour. He also finished tied for fifth behind winner Mahal Pearce at Middlemore in 2003 and in a share of seventh in 2004 at The Grange, won by Terry Price.

His career, mostly on the European Tour, has had its ups and downs with Ormsby forced to return to qualifying school of five occasions. He showed his resilience to regain his playing rights on each occasion.

His first victory came in the Indian Open in 2013 before his European Tour breakthrough in winning the Hong Kong Open in 2017, which he recently repeated.

wade ormsby
Wade Ormsby holding the Hong Kong Open Trophy (Credit: Asian Tour)

He won’t have it his own way around Millbrook Resort and The Hills, even from his fellow Australians.

They will include defending champion Zach Murray who heads the group of previous winners from over the Tasman comprising Daniel Nisbet (2018), Jordan Zunic (2015), Dimi Papadatos (2014), Jake Higginbottom (2012), Brad Kennedy (2011), Peter O’Malley (1995) and Peter Fowler (1993).

Added to that are a group of Australians with experience in Queenstown and success in 2019 including Brendan Jones, Josh Younger and Andrew Dodt who were all tournament winners in 2019.

“Our relationship with Australia goes back for most of the 100 years that this Open has been played and they continue to support this event with good grace, as well as being highly competitive,” said Tournament Director, Michael Glading.

“In fact, Australians have won the Open 42 times, one more than New Zealand players, which is bound to provide a bit of spice to the competition.

“We are thrilled to have so many Australians support the tournament, many of them who come back year-after-year, including former winners, and the likes of Wade Ormsby, who is making his first visit to New Zealand in a decade.

“He is one of the in-form players around the world right now.”

KJ Choi was also confirmed last week that he will be attending the NZ Open as will Kiwi Number two Ryan Fox.

Advertisement Sign up to our NZ Golf Updates