NZ Open Regional Qualifying Narrows 135 Down to 25

nz open qualifying
Photo: Michael Thomas /

After Regional Qualifying was held for the 2020 New Zealand Open earlier in the week, 25 players will head to Monday Qualifying.

A group of 135 golfers teed off across four different courses over two days in the hope of grabbing one of the three elusive positions into the national final.

The lucky 25 will now play a one-day qualifying event at Cromwell Golf Club the week of the New Zealand Open, joining amateurs and professionals who were already exempt into the final stage of qualifying.

Just two spots were available at Christchurch Golf Club from a field of 13 players, with local Mike Toeke occupying the first spot after a solid round of 70. He is joined by Steven Yang from Coringa after he carded a round of 70 to scrape in by a shot.

Three places were available at Paraparaumu Beach Golf Club. Judgeford’s Adam Church fired a round of 68 to lock up the first spot with Mirimar’s Peter Spearman-Burn also etching his name for final stage after a round of 71.

A playoff was needed to decide the third spot between Harry Ward and James Watkins after the pair both shot rounds of 73. Ward would go on to prevail in extra holes.

Further south, five places were available at Otago Golf Club out of 28 players who were vying for their spot in Monday Qualifying.

Otago representative and Otago Golf Club member Ben Patston shot a round of 68 around his home track to book his name at Cromwell Golf Club. He’s joined by Callum Judkins, Jack Turner, and Ryan Bellamy who carded rounds of 69. The final spot went to Kayne Wardell who shot a round of 70 to beat out the chasers by a single shot.

Finally, Titirangi Golf Club held their regional qualifier yesterday with 15 spots in the finale up for grabs.

Min Su Seo from Titirangi shot a round of 68 to take out top honours.

He’ll be joined by Kit Bittle, Hoje Kang, George Helsby, Joshua Rookes, Steven Oh, Jason Mann, Stephen Liu, Jesper Bengsston, Yongju Kim, Tae Min Kim, Sung Jun Park, Brett Peacock, Minkyu Kim, and Joshua Bai are also heading to Cromwell Golf Club.

These 25 golfers will be joined by Australasian Tour players and NZPGA Tour players in the top 40 on the Order of Merit that aren’t already exempt.

Three spots are up for grabs at Cromwell Golf Club, with another three available in Australia following the Queensland Open.

Advertisement Sign up to our NZ Golf Updates