Seven Golfers Added to National Academy

Kazuma Kobori National Academy
Kazuma Kobori (NZ Golf)

Seven emerging talented golfers have been added to the New Zealand Golf National Academy for the first time.

Newly selected phase three members are Tyler Wood, Jared Edwards, Sam Jones, Mako Thompson, James Hydes, Fiona Xu, and Darae Chung have been added to incumbent members who have been re-selected including Daniel Hillier (Professional) in phase four, Kazuma Kobori, Carmen Lim, and Vivian Lu in Phase Three.

The National Academy is a programme set up to support the development of young New Zealanders to realise their potential as golfers, as people and who aspire to win major titles and Olympic Games medals.

Those invited to the 2020 Academy will be able to attend training camps, have access to New Zealand Golf’s national services provider network to assist with their programme development and may be provided opportunities to compete internationally.

Four Phases

There are four phases within New Zealand Golf’s Talent Development Programme with two distinct tiers within Phase Three, the National Academy.

Tier Two is for players who have shown great potential but may still have some way to go before representing New Zealand at senior level or turning professional.

They have been identified as emerging talent but still have developmental gaps that need to be addressed while they strive to improve their on-course performance’s.

A Tier One player has addressed the majority of their developmental gaps. While they are still on their skill mastery journey, they have shown deep engagement in their programme and have several competitive performances that show evidence of this growing mastery.

This evidence will likely include strong international performances.

Phase Four, Rookie Pro Assistance, allows New Zealand Golf to support those that meet the criteria for this phase to make the transition into professionalism.

The 2020 National Academy members are:

Phase Three – Tier Two

Carmen Lim (Windross Farm), Vivian Lu (Royal Auckland and Grange), Fiona Xu (Titirangi), Darae Chung (Shandon), Kazuma Kobori (Rangiora), Tyler Wood (Palmerston North), Jared Edwards (Royal Auckland and Grange), Sam Jones (Manaia), Mako Thompson (Maraenui), and Jimmy Hydes (Gulf Harbour).

2020 Rookie Pro Assistance:

Phase Four

Daniel Hillier (Professional).

Advertisement Sign up to our NZ Golf Updates